The Recruiting Replacement Characters mini-add-on provides a deck of mini-sized cards which can be used to modify how replacement characters are obtained after losing one or more party members. Please feel free to contribute new ideas and feedback, or report bugs, over on BoardGameGeek /thread/2516514. This variant is the work of Leigh Shepherd, with feedback from the DD community.
This deck is managed via the FFM Card Editor and can be printed out via the Card Printer page. Printing this page will print out only the rules section below, not the page header, footer, nor this section.
Draw the top card of the Recruit deck and check the section for the Region you are in (Red for Badlands, Blue for Lowlands etc). Then check the space type indicated in that section. If your party are currently in a space that matches the type shown, you may attempt to recruit the named adventurer (unless they are already in your party, or have been previously and died!) . The Party Leader must pass (or in some cases fail) the type of attribute Test listed.
If you pass, the adventurer will join the party if you pay a cost in {:GP:} equal to the recruited adventurers starting {:GP:}. They begin with their starting items and skills, and you may draw a weakness, following normal set up rules. Whether or not you are able (or willing!) to recruit a new adventurer, shuffle the card back into the Recruit deck.
Some cards allow you to recruit a Wandering Adventurer. You may draw another card and ignore either the Region, the space restriction or in some cases, both. If more than one adventurer would now be available, the party leader chooses one to attempt to recruit.
Note that if you are recruiting to replace or add an adventurer controlled by a single player who would otherwise be unable to join you on your mission, you may always ignore both the space restriction and the test, though the Region must match (except when following Wandering Adventurer rules as normal if such a card is drawn). Note that you still need to pay the {:GP:} cost. When recruiting for a player, that player gets to choose who is recruited if more than one adventurer meets the criteria for selection.
The adventurer shown on the card might not be available, either due to you not owning a particular expansion, or the adventurer being a member (or ex-member!) of your party. If so, you may draw again, for as many times as it takes to draw an adventurer that you have available (even if that adventurer is not recruitable due to any space restriction.)